Squeaky Peanut

"Dot takes on the Domestic Diva"

Hunting and gathering January 8, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — squeakypeanut @ 10:30 PM

I needed some heavy cream for the oyster soup. I walked over to a small, neighborhood market to see if they had any in stock. I figured that I owe them some business because my dog scammed a lot of free dog treats from them back before they were reported to the health department for allowing dogs inside.  They didn’t have any heavy cream, which I noted when the clerk, a very earnest middle-aged lady, asked if I was finding everything.

Well, this sent her all a-flutter:

“No cream?! Well! How about if you use Devon cream? We have some jars up front.”

Oh, no thanks, that’s not what I need. 

 “Well, come look at it! Or I could call my husband and ask him if you can use it!”

 I’m making soup–that won’t work. Thanks, though.

 “What about sour cream?”

No, thank you. It’s fine, really.

 “We have Redi-Whip in a can!!!”

 

3 Responses to “Hunting and gathering”

  1. Rachel Says:

    This is so sweet- you tried to give them business, the lady tried to help…ah well, you tried! Sad that they are no longer allowed to give dogs treats because of uptight people- I live in a Colorado mountain town where dogs come in to get treats in the banks, shops, stores- dogs are pretty much ubiquitous here, and we love it! Adds to the local color when you know people’s dogs, as well as the owners…

  2. CJ Says:

    I hear that creamy oyster soup made with Reddi-Whip is all the rage. You really dropped the ball on that one. 😉

  3. lsaspacey Says:

    Yum, Redi-whip and oyster stew!
    Oh, excuse me, I think I just threw up in my mouth a little.


Leave a comment