Squeaky Peanut

"Dot takes on the Domestic Diva"

Clevelandia June 15, 2010

Filed under: Restaurants — squeakypeanut @ 5:56 PM
Tags: ,

So, no new Martha post yet. This time my excuse is that as soon as I recuperated from Detroit, we went to Cleveland to see my favorite niece, Miss Emma, graduate from high school. She was the co-valedictorian and is one smart cookie!

Also, we returned home to find our refrigerator had died, and we lost all our food, including Martha’s favorite condiment, the Dijon mustard. The replacement frig didn’t show up for two days, so there has been no cooking.  

While in Cleveland, we had some yummies, including a stop right off the highway at Corky & Lenny’s, where The Husband snagged a corned beef knish and some rugelach, which he reports were fresh and had oodles of flavor, in addition to an unremarkable matzoh ball soup. The next day we had a post-graduation lunch at L’Albatross. Would you think I was a lush if I said the best thing I had there was the Gemini cocktail, a combination of St. Germaine, grapefruit juice, vodka, and cava? The cauliflower and bleu cheese soup and frozen lemon souffle were also hits.

On Friday, we stopped by the 100 year old West Side Market, where we indulged in some delicious bakewell tarts and a Scottish pie from Reilly’s Irish Bakery, and a chicken tamale from Orale’s Contemporary Mexican Cuisine stand. I debated about whether to bring home a cooler full of pierogies (one stand had at least a dozen different flavors) but decided not to. I am glad I did, since we wouldn’t have had a place to store them when we got back! Every time I go to the market I have so much fun marveling at the selection of meats, fish, cheese, produce, baked goods, etc. Why can’t the Richmond area have something like that? Sigh.

We also had a good meal at Mint Cafe with my brother. The Husband was amazed by how much flavor the vegetable pad thai had, and I enjoyed my spicy fried rice both for dinner and breakfast the next day. Cleveland has so many good chefs nowadays, and I have a list of places I want to try but somehow never make it to. Next time, B-spot!

My genius niece and I made a lemon blueberry buckle from this cookbook that was dee-licious. It had lemon zest in the cake, and lemon zest in the crumble topping The juice of two lemons and some sugar were turned into a syrup that we poured on top of the cake when it came out of the oven. The cake itself had a cup of blueberries in it, and a cup of berries on top.

I plan to stay put for a bit, so new Martha posts will be forthcoming shortly.

 

8 Responses to “Clevelandia”

  1. Pearl Says:

    You hit some of my Cleveland favs last weekend…next time you’re dining at the Mint Cafe, try the soft-shell crab, yum-yum-yum-good.

  2. lisa Says:

    OMFG, that all sounds so good. Post those restaurant names, I’m sitting here drooling. I love Fat Cats, do you ever go there? Cleveland has the best food, I miss it so much. I want to go back and eat and ride the bike.

    • I wanted to ride bikes, too, but our car was in the shop for 26 hours so we didn’t have a chance. The restaurant names are listed–just click on the highlighted ones and you can see their websites!

  3. Lyndsay Says:

    West Side Market is one of my most favorite places in the world!


Leave a Reply

