Squeaky Peanut

"Dot takes on the Domestic Diva"

Tomatoes and okra and corn, oh my! July 2, 2010

Filed under: Recipe Review — squeakypeanut @ 3:15 PM
Tags: , ,

This week’s menu (available online here) was plucked from the Fall section. It calls for fresh corn, tomatoes and okra, which we bought from the local produce stand, so I am not sure why she thinks I should be making this later in the year.

Menu No. 27: Grilled Lamb Chops; Corn and Couscous Salad; Okra and Tomatoes: Papaya with Yogurt

We are doing Indian this week! I was very, VERY worried about how this would turn out.

Lamb:

The recipe calls for making a rub of garam masala, salt and pepper and smushing it onto some lamb chops and letting them sit for 20 minutes before grilling on med-high heat. I used a lamb steak instead, and the meat sat for about an hour before I cooked it.

Lemme tell you, this was awesome! As you may remember, I don’t like lamb, and  yet, it was so tasty and moist! Love. I still only ate a wee bit, since I felt guilty, but damn you Martha for making me weaken in my stance to avoid eating baby sheep!

Corn and Couscous Salad:

This is a great menu to make when it’s hot as it involves little cooking time, and no baking. (So, why is it in the Fall section?) I made a dressing of whole-grain mustard, white wine vinegar, curry powder (I used half Madras and half sweet) and salt and pepper. I tossed the cooked couscous, sautéed fresh corn and a jalapeno with the dressing and cilantro.

We didn’t like this warm, as the vinegar was too prominent, but once it cooled to room temperature it was pretty good! It went well with the lamb. Later in the week I tossed some chickpeas and feta in with it to make an entrée for lunch. (The recipe made a mountain of couscous)

Okra and Tomatoes:

Onions, then okra, then tomatoes were sautéed in a mixture of olive oil, mustard seeds, cumin seeds and coriander. Another winner! And it looked so pretty and summer-like. Sum.mer! Not Fall.

Dessert:

Here’s where things get a little nutty. Toasted coconut is added to whole milk, Greek style (or Indian, like we had) yogurt, with some lime juice and honey. Then we’re supposed to dip papaya strips into it. The Husband doesn’t like papaya, and I am not sure whether I do. The recipe says you can substitute a mango, and since the mango, which we know we like, was $1 and the papaya was $5, guess which one I chose?

The dessert was fine, and tasted more tropical than Indian, but whatever. It seemed more like an afternoon snack than a dessert. It’s very similar to her orange/yogurt/pistachio “dessert” we made earlier. In fact, I think it would be good layered like a parfait with pistachios on top. Maybe I should write a cookbook!

OVERALL:

The meal was quick to cook, full of vegetables, and the flavors were well-integrated. What’s not to like? Martha needs to go to a Seasonal Produce Identification 101 class, but otherwise I have no complaints.

Lamb:  A+

Couscous Salad: B+

Okra: A

Yogurty Thing:   B

 

One Response to “Tomatoes and okra and corn, oh my!”

  1. lsaspacey Says:

    Who knew? This might be Martha’s best overly rated menu yet!


Leave a Reply

