Squeaky Peanut

"Dot takes on the Domestic Diva"

Ohio Saves the Day! August 25, 2010

Filed under: Recipe Review — squeakypeanut @ 9:06 PM
Tags: ,

As it is wont to do…

Meal No. 32:  Avocado and Lemon on Toasted Rustic Bread; Seared Tuna in Tomato-Basil Sauce; Green Beans with Lemon Butter; Peaches in Honey Syrup

Gee, it all sounds so fancy!

Toasts w/Avocado:

It is only within the last few years that I learned to like/love avocados–they used to make me gag. Now I heart them. The Husband is not impressed with them, and this didn’t help.

The “recipe,” and I do use that term very loosely, was to slice avocados, anoint them with olive oil and lemon juice, sprinkle them with salt and pepper and eat them on toasted rustic bread. There were no instructions re: the toast! Where can I buy rustic toast?!

I kid. This was a big yawn fest. I liked the toast! But the avocado was too plain. I stared at it and tried to compel it to turn into guacamole, but it just wouldn’t.

Tuna in Tomato-Basil Sauce:

I cut the tuna into one inch chunks and cooked it in a skillet in olive oil, then tented it with parchment paper and foil. (Not really. I skipped the parchment paper. Gasp!) Meanwhile, some cherry tomatoes (local heirlooms that I adore) and onions were sautéed in olive oil and white wine and then reduced to a thick sauce-type deal. Basil was tossed in at the end. The tomato mixture was served atop the tuna.

I really loved the tomato sauce–it reminded me of cacciatore (this is two posts in a row where I mention it, and honestly, I think it’s been decades since I had any). The tuna was ok by itself, but the sauce was delicious. The Husband was slightly less impressed than I; he liked the onions with the tuna, and the tomatoes with the green beans.

Green Beans:

Green beans were blanched, then tossed with butter, lemon zest, salt and pepper. I used less butter than called for and they still ended up oily. I don’t know if the lemon we had was old or what, but I couldn’t taste the lemon at all. These were strictly utilitarian–open mouth, insert vegetable serving.

Peaches:

The recipe involved blanching peaches, cooling them in an ice bath, removing the skins, then boiling the skins in a bit of the blanching water along with some honey until it reduced by half. Martha recommends wildflower honey, but we only had rosemary lavender honey.

These were fine–I couldn’t really taste the honey, and it was a very quiet taste that didn’t overtake the peach or make it too sweet. BUT! Just that afternoon Mr. Squeaky Peanut had received a box of Jeni’s ice cream as a birthday gift, and one of the flavors was honey vanilla.

Let me take a minute to tell you about this ice cream. It’s made in Ohio, with cream from a local dairy–it goes from cow to ice cream in 48 hours! All the ingredients are local and organic. THEY SEND YOU A HAND-DATED PHOTOGRAPH OF YOUR ICE CREAM BEING PACKED INTO THE PINT CONTAINER!  :::::squeeeeeee:::::

We had a bit of the honey vanilla with the peach, and it turned the dish from a B+  to an A+!  Thanks, Lana!

OVERALL:

We liked that the meal featured three different vegetables and a fruit, and very little fattening stuff. We could have done without the butter on the green beans to make it even healthier.

Toast:    C    The only good thing about this was the bread, which she had nothing to do with.   Average at best.

Tuna and Tomato Basil Sauce:   B+   I liked it much better than Mr. SP, so we had to average the scores.

Green Beans:  B-

Peaches:    B+

 

Leave a Reply

