Squeaky Peanut

"Dot takes on the Domestic Diva"

ZZzzz October 19, 2010

Filed under: Recipe Review — squeakypeanut @ 5:08 PM
Tags: ,

 

Meal No. 41: Eggplant, Tomato and Mozzarella Stacks: Whole-Wheat Pasta with Pole Beans; Plums….

 

 

  This will be quick because, honestly, I made this meal nearly a week ago and it barely made an impression then, let alone now, after a SUPERFUN weekend that I will post about shortly.

Stacks:

I am confounded as to why this dish is in the Fall section, rather than the Summer chapter. All you do is grill some eggplant slices, then layer them with heirloom tomato slices, mozarella slices, and basil. The stack is drizzled with a dressing made with olive oil and red chile pepper.

They were good, mainly because it’s hard to mess up anything that involves grilled eggplant. The tomato, since it’s fall, wasn’t that great, of course. I substituted goat cheese for the mozarella, while The Husband used feta.

Pasta:

This recipe involved tossing cooked whole-wheat pasta with jarred barlotti beans, romano beans, olive oil, sauteed red onions, rosemary and garlic.  I don’t think there is such a thing as jarred barlotti beans in this town, but I did find them in a can at Whole Foods. They taste similar to pinto beans. I couldn’t find romano beans, either, so I substituted green beans per Martha’s suggestion.

This was pretty boring. The Husband was aghast at how ‘starchy” it was. I thought it seemed like something you’d cook on a Tuesday night when you need to use up a bunch of stuff left in the refrigerator, so you toss everything you can find together. I couldn’t imagine making this on purpose.  I made a half batch and what we didn’t eat has been languishing in the refrigerator ever since.

Plums:

We were supposed to glaze prune-plums in balsamic vinegar, then serve them with mascarpone cheese. We made something very similar last winter, so I opted out. I decided to instead make knedle sa sljivama, which is a Serbian plum dumpling. I have Serbian folks in my extended family and they go on about how delicious these are so I decided to try them, using a recipe I found in the Washington Post (since I don’t have a family recipe. Ahem).

They were a disaster! I don’t think I used enough flour in the potato dough, so they exploded in the pot whilst simmering. The cooked plums were good with the sugar/butter/bread crumb topping, but what a disappointment.

 ETA: I have consulted the family recipe, which calls for three cups of flour, whereas the WP recipe said to use three tablespoons!!!! No wonder!
 
 

 

Ka-BOOM!

OVERALL:

Stacks:  B  I think these would have been much better when tomatoes were actually in season

Pasta:      C-    It wasn’t horrid, but it was SO BORING that The Husband wanted to give it an F.

 

2 Responses to “ZZzzz”

  1. Lana Says:

    Well, why didn’t you ask me???? I have a recipe and I made them when Emma was here and they were AMAZING!!!! The best knedle I have ever eaten . . .

    I have 4 left in the freezer, but I think the prune plums are done here now, if you find some there, buy them and put them in the freezer and I will send you the recipe!

  2. Wendy Says:

    Martin said there are knedle in Poland. We just found a recipe for a strawberry knedle from the Polish magazine you brought us back from Detroit. Maybe it will have to be my next book club treat! First, we will have to get a good translation of the recipe.


Leave a Reply

