Squeaky Peanut

"Dot takes on the Domestic Diva"

Vodka is the key July 24, 2011

Filed under: Recipe Review — squeakypeanut @ 11:13 AM
Tags:

Hello, cupcakes! It’s been a while and I have missed you. I checked my stats and, amazingly, I still get some hits, so I thought I would start posting again, a bit. Maybe.

I joked about being sick in my last post, which was just a cold, but then I ended up truly ill with another sort of thing. Can we blame Martha for it? Possibly, but we will never know, I suppose.  For real, though, I have some great friends who cooked meals for The Husband and me while we were unable to, and I will never forget their kindness and generosity! 

Now I am (slowly) on the mend, and have started cooking again; if it involves throwing stuff into a food processor, I am all over it! I haven’t made anything worth posting about until today.

Richmond, like most places, has been beastly hot this week and will be beastly hot next week, so I threw the chilling mechanism bowl from my ice cream maker into the freezer a couple of days ago,. I just used it to make Pink Grapefruit Sorbet. It is cold and tart and über refreshing.  The key is the bit of vodka, which helps prevent the sorbet from getting too icy in the freezer.

Pink Grapefruit Sorbet

3 c grapefruit juice

1/2 c sugar

1/3 c water

3 T vodka

Make a simple syrup by dissolving sugar in the water over a medium heat. Let cool. Combine juice, simple syrup and vodka in the ice cream maker and process per manufacturer’s instructions. Eat immediately, or place in freezer. May rub on body, if overheated.

 

4 Responses to “Vodka is the key”

  1. sunnygal12 Says:

    YAY! You’re back! How I’ve missed your stew of sarcasm and wit! This recipe sounds oh-so-seductive during these sultry days. One thought..cahnge the word “may” to “must” in the last sentence? Just sayin’….

  2. Owls Says:

    Yay Squeaky Peanut!!!! So glad you’re back!

  3. Nicole Says:

    Wheeee! I’m so glad you’re back, and what a timely recipe. I didn’t have the grapefruit juice, or we’d be eating this right now–but it could so easily be adapted with other kinds of juice.

    I’m giving you a shout-out on R&R because one of my readers has a cooking blog too (Mason-Dixon Kitchen) and she’d love this. I can’t wait to see what else you put up.

  4. Thanks, everyone! It feels good to be back. 🙂


Leave a Reply

